Make us your home page

Tracklist leaked for Prince’s ‘Purple Rain’ reissue



Most die-hard Prince and ‘80s fans know that a reissue of Prince’s Purple Rain album is coming June 9. But the list of tunes to be included on the 3-disc set has been top secret. Until now. says a source named “The Violet Reality” has leaked the tracklist, and that others close to the record company have confirmed its “general accuracy.” 

What can fans expect? The first disc is expected to be the original Purple Rain album - songs from the 1984 movie. The second disc will have edited versions of many of those tunes, along with Erotic City, Another Lonely Christmas, 17 Days and God

The third disc is full of tunes largely not from the movie at all, with the exception of Computer Blue. One addition from the movie, however, is Father’s Song, the score that Prince’s onscreen father writes (but which was actually composed by Prince and his real father).

Click here for all the details on the tracklist. June 9 can’t come soon enough!

[Last modified: Wednesday, April 19, 2017 5:08pm]


Join the discussion: Click to view comments, add yours